25-06-19 Summer League Round 4

The track was designed by Steve Donald and required maximum concentration from drivers at all times.

After two rounds of qualifying Chelle Snowden was quickest followed by Justin Heath and Karl Norris all with 33 laps, in round three however Karl moved up a gear with 35 laps to take pole position in the A Final.

In the LMP12 class Ashley King was the top driver with Steve Donald just under six seconds adrift and Fred Hatfield three laps down in third position.

In the GT12 C Final Saul Theobold had a fine win, Kaelin Thompson finished in second place a lap down and Caleb Jones was third.

The B final produced some great racing with Adam Hancock, Jack Walsh, Anthony Dennis and McKenzie Wallace all fighting for the lead. Jack and McKenzie raced wheel to wheel for several laps in succession, McKenzie set the fastest lap time and won a thrilling race to watch. Jack finished four seconds down in second place, Adam was third and Anthony fourth.

The A Final developed into a race between Karl Norris starting from pole, Chelle Snowden and Justin Heath. Another very competitive race, Justin set the fastest lap time but at the finish it was the ever consistent Karl who won, Chelle took a well earned second place and Justin finished third all three drivers being on 34 laps.

Just the LMP12 final to go where Ashley King was the victor,(he seems to like Steve Donald track designs!), Steve was a close second and Fred Hatfield third.

A super evenings racing, many thanks to Courtney Orme for running race control and to everyone who assisted in setting out and storing away all the equipment at the end of the evening.

18-06-19 June Trophy Meeting

Thirty drivers this week for the June trophy meeting including seven junior members.
Three rounds of qualifying and a final to decide the trophy winners as usual.

In the GT12 class Karl Norris was the top qualifier with Darren Ford just a second slower, both drivers on 38 laps followed by Justin Heath on 37 and Simon Pole with 36 laps.
Ashley King was quickest in LMP12 with 41 laps to take pole in the final, it could not have been any closer though with Steve Donald just 1/100th of a second adrift. Fred Hatfield was third a lap down.
The scene was set for some exciting racing in the finals and we were not to be disappointed.

In the GT12 D Final Freddie Parker and Roy Matthews were evenly matched throughout the race but it was Freddie who was the winner with Roy just two seconds behind and Anthony Dennis taking third place, Caleb Jones was fourth and Alfie Hart Fifth.

The C final Paul Galbraith made a good return to the club by winning, Paul Dewsnap was second with Chris Davis third, both on the same lap.

Kayleigh Knight won the B final with Jack Walsh and Benn Norris having a great race for second and third places, Jack eventually got the upper hand finishing just under two seconds ahead of Benn, Nick Wallace was fourth. Good race!

Karl Norris led the drivers away from pole position on the grid in the A final and was pursued by Darren Ford and Justin Heath. A very fast pace also produced a nail biting finish. Karl was the winner, Darren second just 0.23 seconds adrift with Justin a further 0.34 seconds behind all on 37 laps.

Just the LMP12 final to go where Steve Donald was the winner with 40 laps, Ashley King took second place on 39 with Fred Hatfield just 0.28 seconds adrift in third.

After all the equipment was stored away the club chairman Bob Harley presented the trophies, including for the Junior members.

See Gresley 2019 Gallery for more photos!
A super evenings racing!

Next week is round 4 of the Summer League.

11-06-19 Superleague Round 3

The twenty three drivers who braved the inclement weather were rewarded with a great evenings racing.

It was good to see Mark Deacon racing again at Burton for the first time since January this year, could he mark his return with an A Final win???
Things were looking promising after the first two rounds of qualifying but Darren Ford put in a tremendous performance in round three to take pole position in the A final from Mark by just 0.05 seconds, Mike Simpson being third, Bob Harris fourth and Bob Harley fifth.

Jack Walsh qualified for pole position in the B Final, William Hewitt the C Final and Freddie Parker the D Final.

Just two LMP12 cars this week,Guy Rogers who was quickest and Steve Donald second.

First up was the GT12 D final where Nick Wallace after struggling with his car all evening came good to win the race, Freddie Parker had another great drive to take second place being a lap clear of Saul Theobold.

The C Final was a very close race with the first three drivers finishing just a few seconds apart, visitor William Hewitt was the winner, Kaelin Thompson was second and Paul Dewsnap third.

Jack Walsh led the cars away in the B Final but unfortunately had to retire after just four laps, Anthony Dennis took over the lead and went on to win from McKenzie Wallace in second place (better watch out Nick!, McKenzie got one more lap than you did),Josh Young was third.

In the A Final Darren Ford won improving on his qualifying time and leaving Mark Deacon two laps down in second place with Bob Harley finishing third after starting a the back of the grid. Behind these three, Bob Harris and Mike Simpson were having there own battle for best placed F2 driver with Bob coming out on top to take fourth place.

Just the LMP12 Final left where Steve Donald finished ahead of Guy Rogers fro the first time in the evening.

The results produced several changes to the leading league positions, but with the best five from a possible six results to count there is still a long way to go before the final round in December.

Next week is the June Trophy meeting, ensure on the evening you book in or inform race control by 6-45pm at the latest. Racing will start promptly at 7pm and the trophies will be presented at the end of the evening.

04-06-19 June Clubnight

A good evenings racing on a great track layout designed by Steve Donald.

Justin Heath won the GT12 A Final with Simon Pole in second place three seconds behind, Darren Ford took third place.

McKenzie Wallace had an impressive win in the B Final driving Nick’s car with Josh Young finishing second and Paul Dewsnap third.

Roy Matthews seemed to have the C Final in the bag when his rear wheels became entangled with some tape, Nathan Marshall was quick to take advantage and went on to win, Freddie Parker was second with Roy eventually finishing third.

In the LMP12 final Ashley King was the winner, Steve Donald second and Richard Norris third.

Some great racing!!!!!

Next week is round 3 of the 2019 Superleague.