XMAS Fun Night

Tuesday 17th December – XMAS Fun Night

The fun evening to end the year started with two rounds of projector racing which as usual proved to a bit tricky driving your car looking at an image of the track from a multimedia projector.  Louis Parker was best in round 1 with 33 laps, 3 laps ahead of Darren Ford in second place.

To make even more of a challenge round 2 was run in an anticlockwise direction, this seemed to suit Daniel Williams who achieved a magnificent 34 laps with Louis on 33.

A round of ordinary racing was next with Daniel winning yet again on 44 laps, with Louis 43.

The track was then rearranged for the ever popular “musical carpets”. This was keenly contested, the final three left on the track were last years winner Jenson Butlin, Lewis Davies and Richard Parker.  Richard was eliminated next round so the final head to head was between Lewis and Jenson with Lewis just managing to get to the single mat first and win.

The final event of the evening was football. Two teams captained by Louis Parker and Jenson Butlin took part using two sets of goals.

This was very entertaining to watch, Louis took the lead with an early goal but the result at full time was 2 goals each, meaning a penalty shoot out was required to determine the winner.

Goals were very difficult to score and the goalkeeping was good, it was Daniel Williams who sealed the match for Jenson’s team with a very unorthodox style of driving his car backwards at the ball and scoring a great goal. No one else could match this despite Louis’s team having the ball in the net twice, both goals being disallowed.

Prizes were presented to Lewis, Jenson and Richard for the musical carpets and to Alwyn Hodges for the best presented caravan of the evening complete with an array of flashing lights.

A two week break in racing now for Christmas and New year, the 2014 season starts on Tuesday 7th January with the final round of the current league– time for everyone to get their cars in peak condition.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, looking forward to another great years racing in 2014. 

Superleague 2013 Final Round

Tuesday 10rd December – Superleague 2013 Final round

Richard, Michelle and Roy are League champions 

A very exciting finish to this years superleague especially in division 1 where Dave Tomlinson had a two point advantage over Louis Parker for second place at the start of the evening.  Darren Ford was the driver to beat being fastest qualifier and winning the “A” final, with Richard Parker already having the league won the focus was back on Louis and Dave.  Louis had the upper hand and gained second places in both the qualifying and final to Dave Tomlinson’s fourth places.  This gave Louis a four point advantage on the evening, however with only the best 5 from a possible 6 rounds to count Dave was able discount his worst score of 28 to Louis’s 31 which made an overall gain of just a single point for Louis, hence Dave was second with 178 and Louis third 177 —– close!!!!

Bob Harley took a maximum points score in division 2, also making the “A” final and winning the “who will be the best placed driver using a yellow bodyshell” by beating Mike Simpson.  Michelle Snowden was second position and won the league division 2, another good performance by Jenson Butlin assured him of second place in the league – well done Jenson. Bob Harley finished in third place.

Roy Matthews was top qualifier in division 3 with Courtney Orme second and Alwyn Hodges third, Courtney came out on top in the “C” final ahead of Roy and Alwyn. Roy wins division 3 with Courtney second and Alwyn third.  

Autumn League Round 7

Tuesday 3rd December – Autumn League Round 7 – Richard back at the top

Darren Ford was the top qualifier of the evening, only for his car to break down after 14 laps in the final, which resulted in him finishing in last place.  Richard Parker had the fastest lap time in the final, winning with Louis Parker second, reversing the order from last week.  Daniel Williams also encountered some problems with his car allowing Mike Simpson to snatch third place. Richard has the division 1 league title in the bag but Daniel and Louis will have to fight it out for second and third places in the final round.

Division 2 saw a repeat of last week with Michelle Snowden take maximum points, Bob Harley and Paul Galbraith having another close race with Bob taking second place and also setting the best lap time.

In division 3 Roy Matthews took maximum points and displaced Courtney Orme as league leader.  Courtney finished second and Alwyn Hodges third, this also being their respective league positions.  It should be an exciting final round as a good performance from Selina Woods could see her move into the top three.

2014 Membership Fees due

2014 Membership due by Tuesday 10th December

Burton Buggy Club membership fees for 2014 remain unchanged at £6 and £1 for junior members.

Membership forms are available at race contro

BRCA membership for 2014 is £17.

For members wishing to renew their BRCA membership through the club this makes a total of £23, and £18 for juniors.

Completed forms together with the appropriate fees must be received at race control by Tuesday 10th December at the latest.