27-02-18 Spring League Round 4

The drivers who braved the inclement weather were rewarded with an excellent evenings racing.

After the three rounds of qualifying James Hart was quickest followed by Steve Donald, Karl Norris, Ashley King and Louis Parker, these five drivers making the A Final along with Dan Sheppard.

In the Mardave class it was Harvey Forster who led the way, league leader Roy Matthews second and James Walker third.

In the Mardave A final Harvey was the runaway winner with some consistent driving, also setting the best laptime. Roy was giving chase until lap 17 when problems with his car forced his retirement which moved James Walker up into second place. The result means that Harvey is now the league leader, just a single point ahead of Roy.

Jack Walsh took the GT12 D Final just under two seconds ahead of Benn Norris after these two had a great race, Alex Forster was just a lap down in third place.

The C final saw Tom Sheppard build up an early lead starting from pole position, behind him the other drivers were evenly matched and as the race went on a great battle for second place developed between Bob Harris and Mike Simpson. Towards the end of the race these two were making up ground on the leader and Bob held on to take second place just 0.23 seconds in front of Mike. Kayleigh Knight with the second best laptime finished fourth, Chris Metcalfe being the top F3 driver retained his record of winning every round so far.

Chelle Snowden won the B Final, Jordan Leavis took second place and Bob Harley third.

Just the A Final to go with James Hart defending his unbeaten record and starting from pole. A fast and furious race this ran at a tremendous pace, the first four drivers all finishing on the same lap. Victory went to Louis Parker by the narrowest of margins 0.11 seconds also setting the fastest laptime, James finished in second place, Steve Donald third and Karl Norris fourth.

So Chris Metcalf is now the only driver to score maximum points in all four rounds of the league, lets see what happens in round 5 next week — No Pressure Chris!!!

20-02-18 Team Relay

A chance to have some fun this evening with no league points at stake but the possibility of winning a trophy.
Twenty drivers entered the event and they were grouped into five teams, the captains being James Hart, Louis Parker, Steve Donald, Mark Deacon and Gareth Harrold.
There were four thirty minute rounds using handout transponders which had to be transferred between the cars in each team during changeover windows in each round.

James Hart’s “Jesters” got off to a good start winning round 1, it was close though with Louis Parkers “Lions” in second place just three laps down and Gareth Harrold’s “Giants” taking third place. Steve Donald’s “Wonders” made a not so wonderful start being at the back of the field in last position, twelve laps down.
Round 2 went down to the wire, the “Jesters” recording another win after being chased by the “Wonders”, who finished just a single lap adrift, the “Lions” being third.
Steve looked to have coached his team to peak performance and the “Wonders” went on to win both rounds 3 and 4, however it was not enough to catch up with the “Jesters” who retained the overall lead with third and second place finishes.
The “Lions” took third place, Mark Deacon’s “Marvels” were fourth on tie break, having equal points with Gareth’s “Giants”

A great evenings entertainment, the leading two teams achieved a total of 746 with second place only 2 laps adrift with 744 – a very close result for 2 hours racing.

Trophies were presented to the winning team after all the equipment was packed away.

The winning team “James’s Jesters”

Finally, many thanks to Alister Hart on race control who kept everyone in order all evening.

13-02-18 Superleague Round 1

The first of six rounds of this years superleague, the remaining rounds to be held in April, June, August, October and December with trophies at the end of the year for the top three drivers in each of the formulas.

Steve Donald made a good start winning the A final, as usual it was very close between Steve and Ashley King who finished second, Karl Norris was third.

Two F2 drivers in the A final this week, Dan Sheppard finishing in fifth place and Jordan Leavis sixth, Matthew McAdam being the next F2 driver with third place in the B final, just 0.3 seconds quicker than Darren Ford.

The C final was won by Peter Lax to be best in F3, Chris Metcalfe was second and Benn Norris third.

It was good to see six club mardave class drivers this week, Mike Simpson finished first, Nathan Marshall second and Harvey Forster third – well done Harvey!

Early days yet with five more rounds to go with the best five from a possible six to count.

06-02-18 Spring League Round 3

James Hart’s evening did not go to plan, failing to start round one due to a motor failure. Steve Donald took full advantage to be quickest with Ashley King just over a second adrift and Karl Norris third.

Steve retained the lead in round two, James moving up into second position, Ashley third with Mark Deacon moving into fourth spot.

In the final round of qualifying James was back in top form to take pole in the final, Steve being second and Ashley third. Jordan Leavis put in an outstanding performance to be assured of a place in the A final by finishing fourth overall to be the top F2 driver, pushing Mark Deacon down to fifth place.

In F3 Chris Metcalfe kept his quest to keep his 100% league record intact by being quickest.

In the club madrave class Roy Matthews led the way.

Roy finished just under twelve seconds ahead of Harvey Forster to take the win.

In the GT12 D final Jack Walsh won a close fought battle with Benn Norris to win, Benn was second and Alex Forster third.

Bob Harley had a convincing win in the C final, Guy Rogers was second and Mike Simpson third.

Karl Norris was the winner of the B final and Dan Sheppard took second place and Gareth Harold third.

The A final finished in the starting order with James Hart winning, Steve Donald second, Ashley King third and Jordan Leavis fourth with Mark Deacon taking the last place.

In the GT12 F1 James Hart retains his 100% league record to lead with Steve Donald in second place being just one point ahead of Ashley King.
In F2 Dan Sheppard is the leader but Darren Ford is only one point behind him and Jordan Leavis in third place is only four points adrift after his maximum points this week.
Chris Metcalfe is the only other driver with a 100% record and has a four point lead in F3 over Benn Norris, Courtney Orme being third.

Don’t forget the first round of this years superleague is next week.