18-12-18 XMAS Trophy Meeting

The final race evening of 2018 with a chance to win a trophy before the Christmas and New Year break.

Karl Norris was top qualifier and took pole position a lap clear of Ashley King, Dan Sheppard and Darren Ford with Chelle Snowden completing the A final line up.
Fred Hatfield was on pole in the B Final followed by Justin Heath, Bob Harley, Bob Harris and Steve Donald.
The C Final line up was Kayleigh Knight, Mike Simpson, Guy Rogers, Paul Galbraith and Paul Carter.
The D Final start order was Roy Matthews, Nathan Marshall (Mardave V12), Martyn Hartshorne, James Krych and Freddie Parker.

First up was the D Final and with some friendly rivalry between the drivers it promised to make an exciting race. Martyn Hartshorne made a great start and after three laps was leading followed by Nathan Marshall and Roy Matthews. Martyn went on to set the quickest lap-time in the race but some very consistent driving from Roy saw him move up into the lead and win the race by a lap from Nathan Marshall who took second place by just over two seconds ahead of Martyn.

In the C Final, after an evening of problems with his car Guy Rogers showed his true form be the fastest in the race and win, Kayleigh Knight also had a good drive to take second place with Mike Simpson third. It was good to see Paul Galbraith racing at Burton again.

The B final result was extremely close with the first four drivers all finishing on the same lap. Fred Hatfield was the winner, Bob Harley was second, Justin Heath third and Bob Harris fourth – good race!

The A Final completed the racing for the evening, a great win for Karl Norris after being under pressure from Ashley King for the first half of the race, he then established a comfortable lead. In the meantime Ashley was being chased down by Chelle Snowden, but despite an incident on the penultimate lap Ashley just held on to second place with Chelle finishing third.

A great end to the racing in 2018.

After all the equipment was packed away Chelle Snowden presented the trophies including for the best junior member Freddie Parker .

More photos in the Gresley 2018 picture gallery

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all.

The 2019 season starts on Tuesday 8th January.

Burton Buggy Club Membership for 2019

A reminder to those members who have not already joined for 2019 that membership forms are available at race control.

Membership fees for 2019 remain unchanged.

For new members joining from now to January 1st 2019, membership for the remainder of 2018 will be included.

Membership is available via the BRCA website.

11-12-18 Superleague Final Round

Karl Norris, Jordan Leavis, Courtney Orme and Roy Matthews triumph in the 2018 Superleague

The final round six of the 2018 Superleague again saw plenty of high speed laps and close results.

The GT12 A Final was won by Karl Norris with Dan Sheppard in second place following an excellent drive, Chelle Snowden was third.

Bob Harley took the victory in the B Fnal being a lap ahead of David Statham and Mike Simpson in second and third places respectively.

Bob Harris was almost two laps ahead of the field in the C Final, Kayleigh Knight finishing in second place and Roy Matthews third.

The D final was won by Martyn Hartshorne, Freddie Parker took second place and James Krych third.

Louis Parker won an exciting LMP12 A Final with Ashley King taking second place and also setting the fastest lap, Steve Donald was third just five seconds adrift.

Well done to the League winners and all the trophy winners.

GT12 F1 Winner Karl Norris
GT12 F2 Winner Jordan Leavis
GT12 F3 Winner Courtney Orme
V12 Mardave Winner Roy Matthews



04-12-18 Winter League Final Round

The last round of this year’s Winter League on a tricky track design to test the drivers skills.
Three qualifying rounds with the league points to be decided in the final round as usual.

In the GT12 class Karl Norris won the A final and the F1 League, Chelle Snowden finished in second place just 0.2 seconds ahead of Mark Deacon who was third. Justin Heath was the top F2 driver in fourth place.

Another close finish in the B Final, Bob Harris winning with a great drive, Guy Rogers finishing 0.4 seconds adrift in second place and winning the F2 League on a tie break. David Statham set the quickest lap time in the race but a couple of bad laps resulted in third place.

Mike Simpson won the C Final with Benn Norris finishing in second place and Paul Carter third also being the top F3 driver. However a fourth place finish from James Walker was good enough to win him the F3 League Title.

Nathan Marshall racing in the mardave class was the winner of the D final with GT12 drivers Roy Matthews finishing second, Jack Walker third and Freddie Parker fourth also taking second place in the league – well done Freddie!!!

Once again James Hart won the LMP12 final, lapping everyone apart from Ashley King who was second with Louis Parker third.

Congratulations to all the League Trophy Winners – remember it is the Superleague Final Round next week.