21-12-16 XMAS Fun Night

Something a little different this week for the Christmas fun night – the drivers were allocated into six teams and the carpet area was split into two separate and similar tracks to enable two teams of drivers to race simultaneously, one on each track.

With the team score for each round being the sum of the team members individual laps the emphasis was on reliability and teamwork as well as good driving as they were not racing against each other but trying to maximise their team scores.

To even out any differences in the tracks the teams changed track after each round.

The final results were very close with Gavin Maciver, Wes Wray and Chelle Snowden being the winners just 4 laps ahead of Darren Ford, Roy Matthews and Mike Simpson.

Don’t forget there is no racing on Tuesday 27th December.
Next clubnight is Tuesday 3rd January.


13-12-16 Clubnight

A good evenings racing despite a few glitches with the lap counting.
Trophies for the Autumn League and Superleague were presented by the club chairman, well done to all the winners.

06-12-16 Superleague 2016 Final Round

The final round of the superleague which has been run on alternate months throughout the year.

The third week of a similar layout

In the LMP class James Hart set the pace with some outstanding driving, achieving 46 laps which was 2 better than Louis Parker and Giles Hodgkinson on 44, with Mark Deacon trailing in 4th place a further lap down.

Mike Simpson was top qualifier on 32 laps in the club mardave class ahead of “Team Galbraith”, Joshua being in second place, Paul third both with 30 laps and league leader Jordan 4th on 29. Newcomer Alex Forster made a very impressive start with 20 laps.

Chris Holmes was again flying to be quickest in the GT12 class with 41 laps followed by Gavin Rice, Matt Popejoy, Jordan Galbraith and Steve Donald all on 40 laps.

The LMP final was first up and we were all treated to a great race with James Hart leading from start to finish and setting the fastest lap of the evening. It was close though with Louis Parker right on James’s heels to eventually finish just 5 seconds behind in second place – well done Louis! Giles Hodgkinson was third 2 laps down.

Mike Simpson seemed to have the mardave final in the bag until he lost a front tyre, Jordan Galbraith was quick to capitalise and had a fine win, 3 laps up on the rest of the field. Paul Galbraith was second and a super performance from Roy Matthews gained him third place.

Paul Galbraith won the GT12 C final, Courtney Orme after getting his car sorted finished in second place and fast improving Jack Walsh was third.

The GT12 B final saw Steve Donald get the better of Bob Harley to win an exciting race with Daniel Lacey finishing third.

Chris Holmes continued his run of good form to take a win in the GT12 A final, Gavin Rice was second and Jordan Galbraith third.

Congratulations to the league winners
Mardave class – Jordan Galbraith
GT12 Division 1 – Gavin Maciver
GT12 Division 2 – Bob Harley
GT12 Division 3 – Courtney Orme