27-11-2018 Winter League Round 8

A fast and flowing track design for the second week running provided some exciting racing.

Karl Norris was top qualifier in the GT12 class. He went on to win the A final, Chelle Snowden finished second, Mark Deacon third and Bob Harley fourth. With Karl assured of the league championship and Chelle second place the league third and fourth places will be decided next week between Bob Harley and Dan Sheppard.

New member David Statham won the B Final with Guy Rogers taking second place and Kayleigh Knight third. This meant that Guy lost his two point lead in F2, now being on equal points with Mike Simpson with Kayleigh Knight in third place.

Adam Hancock was the winner of the C Final, James Walker was second and Paul Carter third. Roy Matthews, racing in the GT12 class for the first time won the D final, Martyn Hartshorne trying out his much quicker new motor took second place, Jack Walker was third and Freddie Parker fourth.

James Walker looks to have the F3 championship in the bag but the remaining places are still undecided between current league leader Freddie Parker, Martyn Hartshorne and Jack Walker. No pressure drivers!! – expect out for some very competitive racing next week.

James Hart was the best qualifier in the LMP12 class followed by Ashley King and Steve Donald. It was good to see Gavin Maciver racing at Burton again after a years break. All drivers finished in the same order in the final which means that Ashley King is now league champion elect and Steve Donald runner up.

Looking forward to a great evenigs racing next week.

20-11-18 Winter League Round 7

A superb evenings racing on a great track design producing some fast laptimes, a clean carpet too! – many thanks to Bob Harley with the vacuum.

Chelle Snowden wins the GT12 A Final with league leader Karl Norris in second place and Mark Deacon, racing at Burton after a three month break quietly taking third place just 0.22 seconds ahead of Bob Harley.

Ashley King retains his crown with a victory in the LMP Final finishing ahead of Louis Parker in second place and Steve Donald in third.

Mike Simpson won the GT12 B Final, a flying Kayleigh Knight took second place, Benn Norris was third.

In the GT12 C Final Paul Carter starting from third position on the grid won the race, closely followed by Adam Hancock with pole position driver James Walker taking third.

Mardave driver Nathan Marshal won the combined Mardave V12/GT12 D Final, GT12 driver James Krych was second and Mardave driver Roy Matthews third.

Karl Norris still leads the GT12 F1 League but Chelle Snowden has reduced his lead to just six points.
Guy Rogers leads F2 by two points from Mike Simpson
Freddie Parker is still at the top of F3 but James Walker, Jack Walker and Martyn Hartshorne have only completed four rounds so far.
Roy Matthews Leads the Mardave V12 league with Nathan Marshall in second place.
Ashley King has a six point advantage over Steve Donald in the LMP12 League.

Two rounds left to go in the league and with the best six from a possible nine rounds to count many of the leading positions are not yet decided, so look forward to some very competitive racing in the next two weeks!

13-11-18 A.G.M

After the AGM there was time for three rounds of racing.

Membership forms will be available at race control from 20th November
Membership fees remain unchanged.
For new members joining from now to January 1st 2019, membership for the remainder of 2018 will be included.

Membership is available on their website.

06-11-18 November Team Event

The last team event of the year with captains Ashley King, Fred Hatfield, Steve Donald, Dan Sheppard and Nay Wells taking part in a draw to decide their team members.

Fred Hatfield’s team took an early lead in round 1 with 130 laps, Steve Donald’s team were in second place just 6 laps adrift and Ashley King’s team a further 2 laps behind in third place. Dan Sheppard’s team were trailing in last place due to Martyn Hartshorne unfortunately having problems with his car which despite best efforts ultimately took three rounds to sort out.

There were three qualifying rounds and a final as usual and although the team order remained unchanged throughout the evening the final result was close, the winners being Fred Hatfield, Chris Metcalfe, Darren Ford and Justin Heath with 553 laps.

Despite Steve Donald getting a magnificent 40 laps in the final round his team of Chelle Snowden, Matthew Tansley and Mike Simpson finished second with 538 laps.

Third place went to Ashley King, Guy Rogers, James Walker and Bob Harley with 526 laps. (No win for Bob on his birthday!)

An enjoyable evening, congratulations to the winners who will all receive a free evenings racing.

Finally many thanks to Chris Snowden for running race control and collating all the results.

Round by round scores shown below.

Tuesday 6th November – chance to win a free evenings racing!

A Clubnight with an added bonus this week!

Racing will take the format of an ordinary clubnight with drivers being sorted into heats for each of the classes as usual.

Team Captains will be appointed by race control and they will draw for their team members.

The total number of laps recorded during the evening by the drivers in each team will be added together to give each teams total laps.

The team laps will be normalised on a pro-rata basis to take account of any unequal numbers of drivers in the teams to give the final team scores.

The winning team will be the one with the highest final team score.

(If necessary the tie break will be the lowest final team score time)


D R I V E R S – P L E A S E   E N S U R E   T H A T   Y O U   B O O K   I N   A T         R A C E   C O N T R O L   BY  6 – 4 5 pm