January 2013

Tuesday 29th January 2013 – Winter League Round 2

David Simpson set the pace in qualifying closely followed by Daniel Williams and league leader Dave Tomlinson in third. In division 2 Graham Oxford was the lead driver ahead of Michelle Snowden in second place and Roy Matthews took the top qualifying place in division 3 with Alwyn Hodges a close second.

In the finals Roy won again with Alwyn in second place ahead of Courtney Orme. Another great performance from Michelle Snowden earned her a win in the “B” final, Graham Oxford was second and Alex Barry third. In the last race of the evening Daniel and David had diced for the lead at great speed with Daniel winning and David taking second place with Richard Parker third. 

Tuesday 22nd January 2013 – Winter League Round 1

Despite the weather conditions outside the new league got off to a flying start with some exceptional performances.  In division 1 Dave Tomlinson was in unstoppable form being fastest qualifier and winning the “A” final by two clear laps. The drive of the evening though went to division 2 driver Michelle Snowden who beat all the other division 1 drivers to claim a fantastic second place in the “A” final.  Well done to Michelle, a tremendous achievement.  Alwyn Hodges was the division 3 top qualifier but Roy Matthews came out on top in the final to lead the division by one point. 

Clubnight – Tuesday 15th January 2013

Just an ordinary clubnight this week as a break before the new league starts on the 22nd of January.  Darren Ford won a very exciting “A” final overtaking David Simpson on the last bend of the race to win by 0.11 seconds.  It was also close in the “B” final with Louis Parker winning from Michelle Snowden by 2 second.  Steve Chambers won the “C” final, one lap ahead of Roy Matthews with Alwyn Hodges third a further two laps behind. 

Tuesday 8th January 2013

The New Year is upon us and the 2013 season got off to a great start with the final round of the 2012 autumn league.  A fast but testing track design resulted in some very exciting racing, in division 1 David Simpson, Darren Ford and Daniel Williams were setting the pace and finished the qualifying in this order.  In the “A” final it was Darren who gained the upper hand to win from David in second place and Daniel third.  In division 2 Michelle Snowden was in top form and was fastest in the qualifying, Louis Parker was second and Tom Wright third.  In the finals Tom had a spectacular drive to take the top spot followed by Louis and Michelle.  Shane Stones was unbeatable in division 3 taking the only maximum points of the evening.  Jack Cook was second and ever improving Roy Matthews was third.

The final league positions are as below, congratulations to Daniel Williams in winning the division 1 title, he better watch out though as everyone will be keen to try and beat him.  Louis Parker made division 2 his own and has also won promotion to join his dad in division 1, who will be the top Parker family driver at the end of the next league?  Jack Cook had the highest points total in winning division 3 and is promoted to division 2.  Alwyn Hodges and Courtney Orme have been battling out the second and third places all through the league and both ended up with the same amounts of points.