23-09-14 Autumn League Round 1

The wheels come off in qualifying for Lee Bishop but he tightens his nuts to win the Mardave “A” Final.

James Hart gets the best out of his his new Schumacher GT12 to show everyone the way.
Darren Ford finals jinks continues.

A James and Alister Hart design this week.

This was the first round of the autumn league, there are now two divisions in both the Club spec Mardave class and the GT12 class to “Supercup” rules each with a winners trophy to be retained until the completion of the next league.

Mardave Class

Richard Parker was quickest in the qualifying as usual followed by Lee Bishop who had trouble keeping the wheels on his car, however an excellent drive in the final gave Lee a well deserved victory with 47 laps followed by Richard on 46.
Jenson Butlin made a great start to defending his division 2 league title with a maximum 41 points, the racing is very close in this division so watch out for Jake and Joshua Galbraith in the future rounds.

GT12 Class

James Hart was top qualifier and had an easy victory in the “A” final scoring 52 laps, his nearest challenger Darren Ford had to retire from the race due to mechanical problems. A good performance from Louis Parker earned him second place in the final with Nick Bruty third to lead division 2. Daniel Williams finished in fourth place but this was still good enough to put him at the top of division 1.

Note that although Louis Parker’s final result is correct, the individual lap times are not due to a problem with his transponder.

16-09-14 Anticlockwise

Team Parker continue their run of good form.
Lee Bishop wins the Mardave “A” final.

Racing in the opposite direction for a change this week proved more of a challenge to some drivers than others.
Richard Parker won all of the Club Mardave class qualifying heats and not to be outdone his son Louis was the top in the GT12 class with some outstanding driving – good stuff Louis!

In the finals Richard Parker retired from the Mardave “A” final on lap 23 and Lee Bishop went on to win with Paul Galbraith second and Mike Simpson third.

James Hart won the GT12 “B” final, Graham Oxford had a good drive to take second place ahead of Nick Bruty.

In the GT12 “A” final Darren Ford seemed to have the race in the bag until a loose transponder put paid to his chances, David Simpson took full advantage of the situation to win the race. Louis Parker was second and Bob Harley third, pushing Dave Tomlinson down into fourth spot – well done Bob!

Back to normal direction next week with the start of the autumn league, best six from a possible eight weeks scores to count.

09-09-14 Summer League Final Round

Daniel Williams triumphs in the GT12 Class to add to his Spring League victory
Mike Simpson wins the club Mardave Division 1
Jenson Butlin also has consecutive league title wins in Mardave Division 2.

This week concluded the summer league which has been run over ten weeks with each drivers eight best scores to count.

The leading final positions were:-

GT12 Class

Daniel Williams. 237     Dave Tomlinson 228     David Simpson 205

Mardave Class Division 1

Mike Simpson 237     Paul Galbraith 227     Robert Hambridge 145

Mardave Class Division 2

Jenson Butlin 233     Joshua Galbraith 228     Jake Galbraith 227



Paul Galbraith was the fastest qualifier in the Mardave class after some very close racing with Mike Simpson and took pole position in the final.  Richard Parker returned to form and comfortably won the final with Paul Galbraith second.

Jake Galbraith had an exceptionally good drive in the final to be best in division 2 just ahead of the eventual league winner Jenson Butlin.

David Hall once again was first across the finishing line in the GT12 class followed by the league winner Daniel Willliams, Dave Tomlinson was third and Louis Parker fourth.

Don’t forget that next week the racing will be in an anticlockwise direction for a change and the Autumn League starts on 23rd September.

02-09-14 Summer League Round 7

Another pole position for Lee Bishop but Mike Simpson wins the Club Mardave class “A” Final for the second week running!

Jake Galbraith was the top division 2 driver and Joshua Galbraith is the new league leader.

Darren Ford gets maximum points in the GT12 class


A symmetrical design this week – did Dave measure it out?


Club Mardave Class

Richard Parker returned after a four week break in racing but struggled to get his car to perform well (no doubt it will be sorted for next week!).  It was Lee Bishop who set the pace all through being top qualifier with 39 laps, second was Mike Simpson with 38 and Paul Galbraith third on 37.

In division 2 Jake Galbraith was well ahead of everyone else with 33 laps.

GT12 Class

Darren Ford took pole position in the “A” final with an excellent 44 laps, David Simpson was second on 43 laps and Dave Tomlinson third with 42 laps.


Mardave “A” Final

A really close eight minute race this with seven cars on a track design that called for maximum concentration.  Lee Bishop started from pole position on the grid but Mike Simpson got past half way through the race and it was very close from that point onwards. Lee made a late charge but Mike held on to the lead to win with 50 laps, Lee second with 49 and Paul Galbraith took third spot on 48 laps.

Joshua Galbraith had a great race to be the best placed division 2 driver on 38 laps ahead of his brother Jake and Roy Matthews both on 35 laps. This puts Joshua into first position in the league with one week to go, but Jenson Butlin is still favourite to win.

GT12 “B” Final

This was the closest race of the evening with Graham Oxford and Nick Bruty battling it out for the win all the way through.  It was Nick who was first over the finishing line just 3 seconds ahead of Graham, both drivers getting 49 laps and Jack Cook taking third place with 44 laps. Great race!.  No luck for Team Parker again as Louis failed to start in the final as his car would not go.

GT12 “A” Final

A Darren Ford demonstration drive this, 60 laps, an excellent performance laps that nobody else could match.  Dave Tomlinson was second with 56 laps and league leader Daniel Williams took third place with 55 laps.