June 2013

Tuesday 25th June 2013 – Spring League Final Round – Dave Tomlinson holds on to the lead by his fingertips 

A very tricky track design for the last round of the current league, with a tight bend followed by a very narrow section in the infield called for maximum concentration if a disaster was to be avoided.  David Simpson was the fastest driver after round 1, then Darren Ford took over the top spot after round 2 and was fastest qualifier overall.  Richard Parker had a super drive to be second fastest qualifier, David retiring with transmitter problems.  So with just the final to go things were very close in division 1, Dave Tomlinson had been the league leader for several weeks and with Darren Ford winning with a great display of driving, fifth place was good enough to beat Richard Parker who finished third behind Louis Parker. The scores were tied with Dave winning on count back – congratulations Dave.

Graham Oxford scored his usual maximum points, Bob Harley got his car set up well to be a close second place in qualifying and finals, likewise Jenson Butlin took third. Graham won division 2 with a maximum 246 points and is promoted to division 1.

In division 3 Nathan Marshall equalled Graham Oxfords performance and wins promotion to division 2, good driving from Roy Matthews secured him second place on the night and the league runner up position.

Tuesday 18th June 2013 – Spring Round 7 – Team Parker dominate again 

A repeat performance of last week saw Richard and Louis Parker first and second in the qualifying and in the “A” final, Louis was the winner closely followed by Richard.  Lee Bishop and Dave Tomlinson were third and fourth in the qualifying, their positions being reversed in the final.

Graham Oxford took his customary maximum points in division 2 ahead of Bob Harley and Jenson Butlin.

In division 3 Jordan Galbraith was in top form and was fastest qualifier and also highest placed in the finals for a maximum points – well done Jordan.  Roy Matthews was second and Courtney Orme third.

Next week is the final round of the league so look out for some very exciting racing as several of the top three positions in each division are going right down to the wire. 

Tuesday 11th June 2013 – Spring Round 6 – Team Parker set the pace

Richard and Louis Parker were first and second in the qualifying and were two laps better than anyone else in the “A” final, this time it was Louis who was first across the finishing line with a storming drive followed by Richard.  Another maximum points for Graham Oxford in division 2 consolidated his position at the top of the league, Daniel Lacey was second and Bob Harley third in both qualifying and the finals.  Nathan Marshall had yet  another maximum points which secured him the division 3 title, Jordan Galbraith was second in both the qualifying and finals. 

Tuesday 4th June 2013 – Superleague Round 3 – Darren makes it 3 wins in 3 rounds

After not racing Mardaves for a few weeks Darren Ford was in great form winning all of his races including the “A” Final to score a third consecutive maximum 41 points in the superleague.  In the qualifying David Simpson was his closest rival with both drivers completing 34 laps, which was two more than the rest of the field.  Last weeks winner Louis Parker had another good drive but was beaten by his Dad Richard who finished second with Louis third in the “A” final.

Graham Oxford again dominated division 2, maximum points yet again with Daniel Lacey struggling to match Graham’s pace this week. Some good driving by Jenson Butlin earned him third spot ahead of Kevin Flamson.

Nathan Marshall also achieved a maximum 41 points in division 3, fast improving Jordan Galbraith had a great evening taking second place in both the qualifying and final.  Roy Matthews retained his lead in the league with a good fourth place in the final after being third fastest qualifier in division 3.

There are still three rounds to go in the league, which finishes in December so positions could change dramatically before then, see the “results” page for the current positions.