26-09-17 Clubnight

An ordinary clubnight this evening produced a high standard of driving on a technical track design.

James Hart won the A Final where Steve Donald seemed to be assured of second place when the “wheels came off” on the last lap letting Mark Deacon past on the final lap. Who tightened them up Steve?

Dan Sheppard won a very close B Final from Bob Harley who set the quickest lap in the race.

Courtney Orme stormed to victory in the C Final, Kayleigh Knight took second place just ahead of Paul Carter.

In the D Final Jack Walsh and Isaac Donald had a great race with Jack winning by 1.30 seconds, Nathan Marshall was third.

Next week is round 5 of the 2017 Superleague.

19-09-17 Summer League Final Round

The evenings racing provided an exciting finish to the Summer League.
James Hart was the top qualifier in the GT12 class and only a few seconds separated Steve Donald, Mark Deacon and Chelle Snowden in second, third and fourth places respectively.
Mark was quickest in F2, Dan Sheppard being second and Karl Norris third.
Chris Metcalfe was best in F3, Kayleigh Knight in second place with Jack Walsh in third.

Mike Simpson was both first and last being the only driver present in the Mardave F1.
Nathan Marshall following on from his win last week closed the gap even more on league leader Alex Forster by being quickest in F2 with Alex second and Wes Wray in third spot.

In the Mardave Final Nathan Marshall took and early lead with Pole position driver Mike Simpson second with only a few car lengths between them for several laps, Mike eventually hit the front and went on to win, Nathan was second and a great drive from Wes Wray secured him third place pushing league leader Alex Forster down to fourth place – would this cost him the league title?

In the GT12 F3 Kayleigh Knight had a convincing win in the GT12 C Final and was the F3 League winner and Chris Metcalfe had his second consecutive maximum points to be third behind Jack Walsh who was second.

In F2 Mark Deacon took third place in the A Final to be the F2 league winner and win promotion to F1, Courtney Orme was second in the F2 league and Dan Sheppard third.

James Hart duly won the A Final to win the F1 League with maximum points scored over the six qualifying rounds, the only other driver to achieve this being Mike Simpson in the Mardave F1. Gavin Maciver was second in the A Final and fourth place was good enough for Steve Donald to secure second place in the F1 League, Bob Harley being third.

In the Mardave F2 League the final result was that Nathan Marshall and Alex Forster were tied for the lead with 238 points each which meant that the Tie Break came into operation on countback using the non-counting scores. As the best six rounds scores from a possible eight for each driver counted the tie was resolved by comparing the seventh best scores for each of the two drivers, Alex winning with 37 against Nathan’s 35. That was close – well done to both drivers and also to Harvey Forster who finished in third place.

An ordinary Clubnight next week followed by Round 5 of the Superleague the week after.

12-09-17 Summer League Round 7

The penultimate round of the Summer League produced some great racing in all the different divisions.

In the qualifying James Hart was quickest with Steve Donald in second place just over three seconds down, Chelle Snowden was third.
Mark Deacon was fourth overall and best in F2 with Dan Sheppard second and Karl Norris third, Courtney Orme also put in a good performance in his first week racing a new car.
Chris Metcalfe was the top F3 driver, Kayleigh Knight took second place and Jack Walsh third.
In the Mardave class Nathan Marshall was in sparkling form winning two of the three qualifying heats but Mike Simpson was quickest overall with a win in round 2. Alex Forster took third place.

The Mardave final was an exciting race as usual with Mike Simpson and Nathan Marshall battling it out for the lead which changed hands many times during the duration of the race. With two minutes to go Nathan had a substantial lead but lap by lap Mike was slowly catching him and went on to overtake and win, Nathan finishing second and Alex Forster third.

Kayleigh Knight won the GT12 C Final, Jack Walsh was second and Benn Norris third – a good performance from all of the drivers.

Karl Norris was the winner of the B Final, just managing to hold off Bob Harley who finished second with Chris Metcalfe third.

James Hart had a tremendous drive in the A Final, lapping the rest of the drivers, Steve Donald finished in second place with Chelle Snowden taking third.


05-09-17 Summer League Round 6

James Hart was quickest in the GT12 class followed by Mark Deacon, Steve Donald and Louis Parker. Dan Sheppard was second in F2 followed by Karl Norris. In F3 Kayleigh Knight was the top driver, Jack Walsh was second and Benn Norris third.
In the Mardave class Mike Simpson was first, Paul Galbraith second and Roy Matthews third, Alex Forster was the top F2 driver followed by his brother Harvey.

Paul Galbraith won an exciting Mardave final finishing three seconds ahead of second place driver Mike Simpson after the lead changed many times during the race, Alex Forster was third and top in F2.

Kayleigh Knight had an excellent drive to win the GT12 C final ahead of Paul Carter in second place and Courtney Orme third.

In the B Final Bob Harley was the winner after a close battle with Gary Oscroft and Dan Sheppard who finished second and third respectively.

A very fast A Final was won by James Hart with Mark Deacon taking second place just ahead of Louis Parker.

With two rounds of the league to go Steve Donald leads GT12 F1 but James Hart moves up to third place with a 100% record in his four rounds raced.

Mark Deacon takes over the first place in F2 with Courtney Orme in second place.

Kayleigh Knight with maximum points this week takes over second place in F3, two points clear of Jack Walsh in third place and seven points behind the leader John Stringer, any of these three drivers could still win the league.

Paul Galbraith brought Mike Simpsons run of maximum points to and end in the Mardave F1 despite running on a poor set of tyres, Alex Forster extended his lead at the top of F2 with Harvey Forster in second place.