24-10-17 Autumn League Round 3

Steve Donald was again in impressive form, scoring his second consecutive maximum points by being top qualifier and then winning the GT12 A Final.  Ashley King was second in qualifying, it was close though with Gavin Maciver just 0.34 seconds adrift. The final saw the same result, this time Ashley 0.93 seconds in front of Gavin.

Dan Sheppard and Karl Norris took the next two places in qualifying, making the A Final where they again finished in the same order giving maximum league points to Dan in F2.

Chris Metcalfe was the highest placed F3 driver in qualifying followed by Kayleigh Knight, a great performance in the finals by Chris earned him maximum points, closing the gap on the leader.

The Mardave class was a little depleted in numbers due to the half term holidays, could Roy Matthews repeat last weeks win?
It was not to be the case as his car gave problems all evening, Joshua Galbraith was top qualifier with Nathan Marshall in second place. In the final however it was Nathan who won just over a second ahead of Joshua.

With three rounds completed Steve Donald has a good lead in F1, Dan Sheppard and Karl Norris are well clear of the rest of the field in F2, Kayleigh Knight leads F3 with Chris Metcalfe in second place.

Roy Matthews still leads the Mardave class but Nathan Marshall has set his sights on winning after finishing second in the previous league.

AGM Proposals

Burton Buggy Club AGM Tuesday 14th November 2017

A reminder that Club members wishing to put forward any proposals for discussion at the forthcoming AGM must provide written details of each proposal together with the names of both the Proposer and Seconder to the Club Secretary by the end of Clubnight on Tuesday 31st October 2017.

Please use the AGM proposal forms – available at race control

17-10-17 Autumn League Round 2

Steve Donald was the driver to beat in the GT12 class being quickest in qualifying to take pole in the A Final, he was put under pressure by Ashley King who was second and finished nearly a lap ahead of Mark Deacon in third place.
Dan Sheppard put in some excellent drives to lead in F2 a lap ahead of Karl Norris in second place.
Chris Metcalfe was the top F3 driver, Kayleigh Knight was second and John Stringer third.

Joshua Galbraith was quickest in the Mardave class, Wes Wray put in some good performances to take second place with Roy Matthews with different colour bodyshell to normal taking third.

Roy Matthews had a great drive to win the Mardave final – was it the bodyshell that made the difference or was it the work of the “Team Galbraith” pit crew in preparing the car?
Wes Wray took second place with Harvey Forster finishing third.

The GT12 C Final proved to be a very close race between Courtney Orme and Kayleigh Knight, very few errors from either driver the race was eventually won by Kayleigh by two seconds. John Stringer set the fastest lap time in the race and finished third. Great Race!!

Chelle Snowden was the winner in the B Final just two seconds ahead of Karl Norris, Mike Simpson was third a further three laps down.

Just the A Final left, could Steve Donald get the win to take the lead in F1?
Steve set the fastest lap and the answer was yes he did win but it was a very close contest with Ashley King, with Mark Deacon also on the same lap in third place being keen to get the race finished so he could pick up his winners trophy from the summer league at the presentation that followed.

Vice Chairman Chelle Snowden presented the Summer League trophies after the racing – well done to all the winners especially Benn Norris the winner of the Chairman’s cup for the most improved driver.

10-10-2017 Autumn League Round 1

The first round of the Autumn League, James Hart was quickest in qualifying with Louis Parker second a lap down and Steve Donald taking third place. Dan Sheppard was the best in F2 a lap clear of Karl Norris. Jordan Leavis was the best in F3 , Kayleigh Knight second and Benn Norris third.
In the Mardave class Nathan Marshall showed everyone the way being two laps quicker than Wes Wray and Roy Matthews in second and third places respectively.

Nathan had a convincing win in the mardave final to take maximum points and be the league leader, Roy Matthews finished second and Harvey Forster third.

Eight cars on the track made the GT12 C final exciting and it was Paul Carter who won, Kayleigh Knight second and Courtney Orme third.

Jordan Leavis won the B Final with Stephen Deacon, Bob Harley and Bob Harris finishing second, third and fourth respectively just a few seconds apart.

James Hart could not quite match his qualifying time but still won the A Final in style, Louis Parker took second and Steve Donald third.

Early days in the league but a good made by James Hart, Dan Sheppard and Nathan Marshall, all taking maximum points from the evening.

03-10-17 Superleague Round 5

After round 1 of qualifying Steve Donald was leading by the narrow margin of 4/100th of a second from James Hart in second place, Steve also setting the fastest lap. These two drivers being three laps clear of Bob Harley in third place.
Round 2 was also close, James winning by 0.54 seconds with Steve once again having the quickest lap, a good drive from Chelle Snowden took her into third place.
James saved his best performance for round 3 to take pole in the A final, Steve second place, Chelle third and Dan Sheppard fourth.

Jason Leavis was the highest placed F3 driver, Kayleigh Knight second and John Stringer third.

In the mardave class Nathan Marshall was a lap clear of Mike Simpson in round 1, Roy Matthews took third place and best in F2.
Mike took the lead after round 2, Nathan was in second spot and Roy still third ahead of Alex Forster.
Round 3 saw Alex move up into third place an best in F2 ahead of Roy.

The mardave final was first where Mike and Nathan both had a good start, Nathan taking the lead on lap 3 and on the next lap Mike had an issue with a rear tyre forcing a pit stop (it was only 6 months old!). Nathan took full advantage and put in an excellent drive to win by a lap with Mike second and Alex Forster getting the better of Roy Matthews to take third place.

John Stringer was quickest in the GT12 C final but Courtney Orme gave him a good race finishing just 4 seconds behind with Benn Norris also having a good drive to take third place.

Karl Norris won the B Final, Jordan Leavis finished second and Bob Harris third just over 7 seconds behind.

The A Final did not disappoint with James and Steve battling for the win plus Chelle and Dan Sheppard having their own fight for the third and fourth places. Another very close finish, James winning, Steve taking second just under 2 seconds adrift, with Chelle finishing third in front of Dan by a similar margin.

Don’t forget the new Autumn League starts next week and the final round of the Superleague will be held in December.