18-09-18 Winter League Round 2

Visiting driver Alex Thurston won the GT12 A Final by a margin of 1.07 seconds from Louis Parker in second place with Karl Norris finishing third a further 4.55 seconds adrift.

Mike Simpson was the best placed F2 driver after a very close race with Kayleigh Knight.

Guy Rogers won the B final ahead of David Statham who was back racing at Burton again after a break of several years.

James Walker took maximum points in F3 followed by Courtney Orme.

Ashley King won the LMP Final, Steve Donald finished second and Dan Sheppard third.

Mardave driver Roy Matthews won the combined GT12 C / V12 Final, James Krych was a lap down in second place and Freddie Parker finished in third place.

Next week is round 3 of the league, remember it is the best 6 from a possible 9 scores to count.

11-09-18 Team Event

The team of Dan Sheppard, Richard Parker, James Krych and Alex Forster won the September Team event with 476 laps, the result after the four rounds of racing was close though Bob Harley, Guy Rogers, Courtney Orme and Jack Walker were only nine laps adrift in second place.

An enjoyable time was had by everyone, the winning team drivers all getting a free weeks racing,

The Summer League trophies were also presented to the winners not present at the original presentation, congratulations to all the trophy winners including Dan Sheppard who won the F2 league, gaining promotion to F1 and Alex Forster the winner of the V12 Mardave class.

04-09-18 Winter League Round 1

Louis Parker made a great start to the first round of the new winter league by winning the GT12 A Final and taking the 100 maximum points for the evening. Ashley King and Steve Donald were second and third respectively with 99 and 98 points trailing Louis by two laps.

Jordan Leavis was the top F2 driver, qualifying for the A Final and scoring 100 points in F2. Guy Rogers was next best with 99 points,finishing third in the B Final, with Mike Simpson on 98.

Daniel Beattie took the maximum 100 points in F3 finishing in fourth place in the C Final, Courtney Orme scored 99 by winning the D Final followed by Martyn Hartshorne on 98.

Early days in the nine round league with the best six round scores to count, but good to get some scores on the board.

NEXT WEEK is a Team event, the format will be similar to a normal clubnight other that it is anticipated that there will be four qualifying rounds only with no finals, drivers being allocated into teams by race control.

The remaining Summer League trophies will also be presented to the trophy winners not present at the original presentation on 28th August.

02-09-18 Burton GT12 Grand Prix

The Burton GT12 Grand Prix held on Sunday 2nd of September at the Burton Buggy Club normal Tuesday evening track venue of Gresley Old Hall was a great success with a total of eight rounds of racing for everyone including three finals with the best two rounds to count towards the final results.

There was some very competitive racing in all the heats and finals with Ben Elliott being both the top qualifier and winning the A Final with Russel Mouland taking second place, Gary Kirkpatrick third and Pete Stockton fourth.

Matt Cook was the victor in the B Final, Jordan Leavis was second and Andrew Slingsby third.

In the C Final Ben Appleby was the winner, Bob Harley took second place and Guy Rogers third.

Nigel Wyse won the D Final, Jack Souter finished in second place and James Walker third.

New Burton Buggy Club member Martyn Hartshorne won the E Final in his first trophy meeting, James Krych was second and Kyren Glover third.

After all the equipment was packed away the trophies were presented by Chelle Snowden, this was followed by the raffle prizes.

Trophies were awarded to the first, second and third place drivers in each final, Top qualifier and the top four juniors.
Well done to the junior drivers Jack Walker in fourth place, Kyren Glover third, Jack Souter second and the winner Jordan Leavis.

Many thanks to in particular Bob Harley who organised the event – yes he did win a trophy too!

Thanks also to Alister Hart for running race control, Jason Levis for scrutineering, James Hart for the track layout, Schumacher and MB Models for providing the raffle prizes together with everyone else who helped make the day a success, not forgetting all the drivers who I hope had a great day.

For more photographs visit Gallery 2018 Gresley pages three and four on the website