26-05-15 Spring League Round 7

James Hart wins again in the GT12 class, David Simpson is second
Chelle Snowden is fourth in the “A” Final and extends her lead in division 2
Matt Popejoy makes the “B” Final and extends his run of maximum points in division 3 to seven – only three more to make it a full house
Paul Galbraith is the top V12 mardave driver


After having problems with his batteries in the first two qualifying heats, Paul Galbraith put in a good drive in round 3 to be top qualifier 4/10th second ahead of Mike Simpson. Joshua Galbraith was the fastest division 2 driver followed by Roy Matthews.
In the GT12 class James Hart was two laps faster than both David Simpson in second place and Gavin Maciver, third only a few seconds apart.
Chelle Snowden was fastest in division 2, being a lap clear of Dave Tomlinson and Bob Harley who were second and third respectively.
In division 3 Matt Popejoy was a lap ahead of both Courtney Orme and Scott Lewis to keep him on track for yet another maximum points evening.

Paul Galbraith got off to a fine start in the V12 Final and was never seriously challenged for the lead, finishing 4 seconds ahead of Mike Simpson. Jordan Galbraith was the best placed division 2 driver and Roy Matthews was second.

Scott Lewis had a great run in the GT12 “C” Final to win with 38 laps, but this was not quite good enough to beat Matt Popejoy who managed 42 laps in the “B” final to be top division 3 driver once again. Alister Hart took second place and Selina Woods racing at the club for the first time this year third.

Bob Harley had a comfortable win in the “B” final on 48 laps, being 2 laps clear of second place driver Nick Wallace.

Last up was the GT12 “A” Final, a great race this with James Hart on top form to lead from start to finish and win on 53 laps, behind him there was a tremendous battle for second place between David Simpson and Gavin Maciver. There was little to separate these two drivers for lap after lap, Gavin’s car was a little faster but he was unable to get past David despite putting him under sustained pressure. Unfortunately Gavin had a mishap two laps from the end of the race and David went on to take second place with 51 laps, Gavin being third on 50. Chelle Snowden and Dave Tomlinson also had a very close race with Chelle snatching fourth place from Dave on the very last lap to be best division 2 driver. – well done Chelle!

Just three more rounds to go in the Spring league.

22-05-15 Clubnight on Friday this week only

Clubnight was moved to Friday evening for this week only due to the hall being used for another function, this together with the Bank holiday resulted in fewer drivers – nevertheless it was a good evenings racing.


Gavin Maciver was the best GT12 driver, being top qualifier and winning the A Final in style, Rob Hambridge was second in the qualifying two laps up on Nick Bruty. However it was Nick who took second place in the Final, two laps ahead of Rob.
Some excellent consistent high speed driving by Gavin – well done.

Mike Simpson won the GT12 B Final, Matt Popejoy was second and look out for new member Scott Lewis who took third place – expect him to give Matt a run for his money next week in the Spring League!

Yet another incredible race in the Mardave V12 Final with Mike Simpson leading off from pole position being chased by Paul, Jordan and Joshua Galbraith. The loss of a tyre put paid to Jordan’s challenge leaving Mike and Paul to fight it out for the win. After an incredibly close contest with Paul in close pursuit Mike had a crash just before the final bend of the last lap, Paul shot by only to be involved in a racing incident himself allowing Mike to recover his position and win, – what a race, it does not get much better than this!

Back to the Spring League next Tuesday, can Matt Popejoy retain his unbeaten record?????

12-05-15 Spring League Round 6

A good evenings racing with Louis Parker being top GT12 qualifier, Gavin Maciver second on the same lap as Louis, Chelle Snowden and Bob Harley being third and fourth respectively a lap down. Matt Popejoy was the fastest qualifier in division 3 followed by Alister Hart.
In the V12 Mardave class it was Jordan Galbraith who was quickest followed by his dad Paul and brother Jake.

In the V12 Mardave Final Paul Galbraith was the winner taking him into the lead in the mardave division 1 league, Jordan was second and Roy Matthews third.

Matt Popejoy won the GT12 C Final to continue his run of maximum points, Scott Lewis was second and Courtney Orme third.

Darren Ford found himself in the B Final which he duly won, Dave Tomlinson took second place and Nick Bruty third.

The A Final saw Louis Parker lead from start to finish being chased by Gavin Maciver who finished in second place a lap behind. Chelle Snowden had a good drive to finish third a full two laps ahead of Bob Harley.


05-05-15 Spring League Round 5

Jordan Galbraith wins all the V12 Mardave qualifying rounds and the Final
Louis Parker is the top GT12 driver being unbeaten all evening
A great performance from Chelle Snowden to score maximum points in division 2
Matt Popejoy continues his unbeaten run in division 3

Some very tight sections this week

Jordan Galbraith was the top qualifier in the V12 Mardave class with some excellent driving, Mike Simpson was second and Paul Galbraith third all being on 22 laps.
Louis Parker was much quicker than the other drivers in the GT12 class with only Darren Ford making a serious challenge, Louis won all the heats and achieved 29 laps, Darren was second with 28 and Gavin Maciver third on 27.
In division 2 there was some close racing between Chelle Snowden and Dave Tomlinson, Dave won round 1 but Chelle won rounds 2 and 3 to have the better time by 4 seconds. Bob Harley was third with 25 laps.
Matt Popejoy was the quickest of the division 3 drivers once again and was best qualifier on 21 laps, Alister Hart was second a lap down.

In the Mardave final Jordan Galbraith starting from pole on the grid lead the race from start to finish to win, behind him there was a serious battle for second place between Mike Simpson and Paul Galbraith. Mike had a lead of 3 seconds mid-way through the race but then Paul started to gradually reel him in, with one and a half minutes to go he had caught up and for the remaining laps the cars were only inches apart, a slight error by Mike on the last bend gave Paul an opportunity to get past, the cars crossing the line together with Mike still having 0.27 seconds advantage. A great race!
Well done Jordan on being the top Mardave and “Team Galbraith” driver this week, beating his dad Paul – will there be team orders in the next round?

The GT12 C Final was yet another Matt Popejoy victory, making five maximum points out of five at the mid point of the league. Looks like almost certain promotion to division 2 for the summer league. Alister Hart took second place three laps down.

Ashley King got his car going well in the GT12 B Final to score an impressive 41 laps and win, Bob Harley just got the better of Nick Bruty to take second place with Nick third, both drivers on 39 laps.

A crash on the first bend dropped pole position driver Louis Parker down to second place in the GT12 A Final with Darren Ford taking the lead. Louis was soon right behind him and thrilling race ensued with Darren under constant pressure, the lead changed hands a couple of times near the middle of the race and Darren was still leading up to lap 31. A slight mistake by Darren gave Louis the opportunity he was waiting for and he went on to win by over 4 seconds. Darren was second and a tremendous drive by Chelle Snowden earned her third place and the best division 2 driver, Dave Tomlinson was fourth.
Good stuff Louis, a great race to watch!