27-10-20 Winter League Round 2

Twenty-one Drivers this week for the second round of the current league on a track design that was quick and looked deceptively easy, but demanded precision driving in key places to ensure a good result.

For the third consecutive week Simon Pole was the top qualifier followed by Karl Norris and Darren Ford all separated by a few seconds. Chelle Snowden, Stuart Evans and Guy Rogers took the remaining places in the “A” Final.

A great evening for “Team Hart” with Alfie Hart taking second place in the “D” Final having started from last place on the grid, the race being won by Paul Carter with Jake Crawshaw third.
Not to be outdone by Alfie, Jack Walsh finished third in the “C” Final to be the best placed F3 driver. The race was won by Mike Simpson with Simon Honeysett finishing second.

In the “B” Final Bob Harley was going for his third win in a row, this time starting from fourth place on the grid with Stephen Deacon on pole.
A great race this with Kayleigh Knight winning, Benn Norris taking a brilliant second place to make it a 1-2 for “Team Norris”. Stephen Deacon was third ahead of Bob Harley in fourth.

In the “A” Final Simon Pole made a good start to the race from pole position but had to settle for second place behind Karl Norris the eventual winner with his consistently quick driving. Chelle Snowden finished third under a second behind Simon, Stuart Evans took fourth place to be top F2 driver. Two wins and a second place in the evening for “Team Norris”

Current league leaders are:-

F1 Simon Pole and Karl Norris tied on 199 points
F2 Stuart Evans 200 points
F3 Dan Stones 199 points

20-10-20 Winter League Round 1

This was the first round of the winter league which runs to the end of the year with the six best scores from a possible nine to count.
The track design was similar to the previous week and again produced some incredibly competitive racing with three qualifying rounds and a final as usual.

Simon Pole was the top qualifier with 42 laps, Karl Norris was second on 41 laps, Chelle Snowden and Stuart Evans both achieved 40 laps in exactly the same time with Chelle taking third place on the tie break, cannot remember this happening before! Kayleigh Knight and Darren Ford completed the A line up each with 39 laps.

First to race was the C Final where Paul Carter led the cars away from the start grid and set the quickest lap of the race, however the race was won by Dan Stones, Paul was second and Jake Crawshaw third.

In the B Final Guy Rogers, Bob Harley and Stephen Deacon were very closely matched for pace and had a great race. For the second week running Bob Harley was the winner, Guy was second and Stephen third with just a few seconds between them. Well done Bob! Benn Norris also had a good race to take fourth place.

Simon Pole started from pole position on the grid in the A Final and was in great form both winning the race and setting the fastest lap. Karl Norris finished in second place and Chelle Snowden third, a great race to complete the evening.

Early days yet in the league but the current leaders are-

F1 Simon Pole
F2 Stuart Evans
F3 Dan Stones

Round 2 of the Winter League is planned for next week.

13-10-20 October Clubnight

For the second week running Simon Pole was the top qualifier after winning all of the qualifying rounds with Karl Norris in second place, both drivers with 40 laps.
Could Simon win the A Final again as he did last week!.
Stuart Evans was in third place and Kayleigh Knight fourth both 41 laps followed by Chelle Snowden and Bob Harley with 39.

First up was the GT12 C Final, the winner by three laps was McKenzie Wallace after an excellent drive, Mike Simpson took second place and a fast improving Dan Stones was third.

The Club Chairman Bob Harley was the winner of the B Final, Guy Rogers taking second place and Nick Wallace third, all three drivers on 39 laps.

Simon Pole made a good start from pole position in the A Final to lead from Karl Norris and Stuart Evans with Chelle Snowden moving up into fourth place ahead of Kayleigh Knight. Chelle and Kay exchanged fourth and fifth places on each of the first three laps before Kay eventually regained her starting position.

On lap seven Karl Norris took the lead in the race from Simon setting up a tremendous battle between these two drivers and despite Simon setting the fastest lap time it was Karl who retained his lead to win by a margin of 0.35 Seconds! Stuart Evans finished third.
Kay regained fourth position on lap thirty five only for Chelle to overtake her yet again on lap thirty seven to take fourth place which she held to the the finish.

Wow! what a race, can it be matched next week?

Don’t forget the Winter League starts next week.

Entry is by Pre Booking by text message as usual for Burton Buggy Club members only.

06-10-20 Spring League Final Round

At last the final round of the Spring League which started on Tuesday 14th January.
The track design was similar to the previous week and produced some close racing.

There were three qualifying rounds and a Final as usual.

Simon Pole was quickest in the qualifying closely followed by Karl Norris both on 44 laps with Darren Ford third a lap down.
Good performances from both Stuart Evans and Nick Wallace with 42 laps to be the leading drivers in F2.
Simon Honeysett was yet again the top F3 driver, Dan Stones was second.

Simon Honeysett won the GT12 C Final with Paul Carter taking second place, Jake Crawshaw finished third just ahead of Dan Stones.
In the B Final Kayleigh Knight won after a good race with Stuart Evans who finished second with Bob Harley third.
The A Final as usual very close, Simon Pole started from pole position on the grid ahead of League leader Karl Norris and this was how they finished at the end of the race just over two seconds apart, these two being a lap ahead of the rest of the field. Darren Ford took third place, Chelle Snowden fourth and Guy Rogers fifth.

Congratulations to the League winners.
GT12 F1 Karl Norris
GT12 F2 Nick Wallace
GT12 F3 Simon Honeysett
LMP12 F1 Fred Hatfield

Next week is an ordinary clubnight for Burton Buggy Club members only