Summer League Round 2

After the three rounds of qualifying James Hart was quickest in the GT12 class with 34 laps, Karl Norris was in second place a lap down followed by Dan Sheppard (best in F2), Chelle Snowden and Darren Ford all on 32 laps.
Bob Harris won the “Battle of the Bobs” being just a quarter of a second faster than Bob Harley to take pole position in the B final.
Ben Norris was the best placed F3 driver ahead of Jack Walsh and Courtney Orme but it was newly promoted Chris Metcalfe who took pole in the C final.

Things were very close in the Mardave class where Nathan Marshall eventually finished four seconds ahead of Roy Matthews.

In the LMP class Steve Donald snatched pole position from Ashley King in round three, these two being two laps ahead of the rest of the field.

A great drive from Roy Matthews won him the Mardave/GT12 D final, his nearest challenger Nathan Marshall not quite being able to match his pace. Dean Bostock finished third and Kyren Glover fourth.

The GT12 C final was close with pole position driver Chris Metcalfe retiring after thirteen laps, leaving the two fast improving junior members Jack Walsh and Benn Norris to fight it out for the win. A good race this with Jack getting the upper hand to take a well deserved win, Benn was second and Courtney Orme third.

In the B final Bob Harris starting from pole suffered a setback at the start of the race as Bob Harley shot into the lead like the flip of a coin and went on to win the race. Behind him there was some very close competition for the remaining places between Bob Harris, Mike Simpson and Kayleigh Knight. All three were very closely matched for speed, at the finish it was Mike who took second place, Bob was third and Kayleigh fourth.

James Hart won the A final with an impressive 35 laps, Karl Norris was second on 34 and Darren Ford took third less than a second ahead of Dan Sheppard.

In the LMP final pole position driver Steve Donald could not match the speed of Ashley King who won the race with 36 laps, Steve was second on 35 and visiting driver Fred Hatfield took third spot also on 35 laps.

A good evenings racing, next week is round three of the 2018 superleague, trophies will be also presented for the Spring League trophy winners who were unable to attend last weeks presentation.

22-05-18 Summer League Round 1

After a break from racing as the venue was not available last week it was the start of the summer league and it was good welcome two new members Lucas Morgan and Kyren Glover.

Following the three qualifying rounds Nathan Marshall led the club Mardave class to take pole position in the final with Roy Matthews two seconds down in second place and the spring league winner Harvey Forster in third.
In the GT12 class Karl Norris was quickest, four seconds in front of Chelle Snowden with Dan Sheppard third, Darren Ford fourth and Bob Harley in fifth place.

With all the league points resting on the final result a good performance was required.

Nathan Marshall made a good start in the mardave final but it was Harvey Forster who steadily made his way up into the lead and went on to take a fine win just ahead of Nathan in second place and Roy Matthews in third. Well done to Lucas Morgan who finished fourth.

Courtney Orme won the GT12 C final to take maximum points in F3 ahead of Kyren Glover, Mike Yates finishing third.

Jordan Leavis had a convincing win in the B Final, Guy Rogers was second and an incredibly close finish saw Mike Simpson just take third place by just 0.31 seconds from Bob Harris.

The last race of the evening the GT12 A Final was exciting to watch with the first four drivers finishing on the same lap. It was pole position driver Karl Norris who won, Chelle Snowden took second place and Dan Sheppard third (also being best in F2), Bob Harley was fourth with newly promoted F1 driver Darren Ford finishing fifth.

So after round one Harvey Forster, Karl Norris, Dan Sheppard and Courtney Orme all have maximum points in their formulas – can they retain their record next week. With the best six from a possible nine round scores to count there is a long way to go.

Following the racing the spring league trophies were presented by Chelle Snowden, see photograph of some of the trophy winners.

08-05-18 Team Relay

The second team relay of the year comprised of four 30 minute duration multi-leg finals with four teams taking part using team handout transponders.

Dan’s Dazzlers won a very close first leg with 128 laps, Bob’s Bashers were second on 127, Steve’s Wonders third with 126 and Chelle’s Gazelles last a further two laps down.

Things got even better for the Dazzlers in leg 2 where they recorded a second win being six laps clear of the rest of the field to take a commanding overall lead at the halfway stage of the event, the Wonders dropping down to last place.

The Bashers won leg 3 and with the Dazzlers finishing down in third place it meant their overall lead over the Bashers was reduced to just a single point with only the last leg to go. The Wonders were wondering what to do as another fourth place finish had left them no firmly rooted to last place.

So the winners would be decided on the final leg which was very competitive, a win for the Gazelles by just six seconds from the Bashers in second place, these two teams being six laps ahead of the Dazzlers in third place with the Wonders recording a hat trick of last places.

This resulted in the Dazzlers and Bashers being tied for the lead on eight points each meaning the tie break of total laps came into operation, Bob’s Bashers winning with 563 laps against Dan’s Dazzlers 557. An incredibly close result after two hours of track time. Chelle’s Gazelles were third with nine points and Steve’s Wonders fourth with 15.

Following the racing the winning team were presented with trophies by the club treasurer Steve Donald – so he did get his hands on a trophy if only briefly!

Congratulation to the winning captain Bob Harley together with his team Darren Ford, Courtney Orme and James Walker.

Thanks to all who took part including Chris Snowden on race control, a very enjoyable evening.


The summer league will start the following week on 22nd May with the Spring League trophies also being presented

01-05-18 Clubnight

An ordinary clubnight this week following the completion of the Spring League gave everyone a chance to experiment with their cars setup.

Next week is a team relay – remember all drivers need to book in prior to the event.