17-03-20 Spring League Round 7

The last race meeting before closing until further notice due to the COVID-19 virus.

Just three heats in each round but still producing some very competitive races.

Karl Norris was top qualifier with Darren Ford second, Chelle Snowden third, Kayleigh Knight Fourth and Stephen Deacon Fifth, these drivers making up the A Final.

The GT12 C final saw a fine race between McKenzie Wallace and Simon Honeysett, at the finish McKenzie was the winner by just over 3 seconds with Caleb Jones in third place.

In the B Final Bob Harley took the win, Benn Norris was second and Mike Simpson third.

Darren Ford won the A Final, Karl Norris looked to be assured of a win but finished in second place following a racing incident on the penultimate lap. Kayleigh Knight finished third with Stephen Deacon fourth and also being top F2 driver.

Current League Positions

GT12 F1
Karl Norris remains in the lead with Darren Ford moving up into second place and Kayleigh Knight third.

GT12 F2
Nick Wallace is the league leader, Benn Norris remains second and Mike Simpson third.

GT12 F3
Simon Honeysett is the new league leader pushing the leader since the first round Jack Walsh down into second place, Freddie Parker remains third.

No changes, Fred Hatfield leads, Ashley King is second and Gavin Maciver third.

Many thanks to Courtney Orme for running race control and everyone else who helped set out the track and store all the equipment away at the end of the evening.

10-03-20 March Trophy Meeting

The first Trophy Meeting of 2020, Karl Norris was quickest in GT12 qualifying to take pole position in the A Final with Simon Pole second, Kayleigh Knight third followed by Chelle Snowden, Stephen Deacon and McKenzie Wallace.

Steve Donald took pole position in the LMP12 Final with Louis Parker car 2 and Fred Hatfield car 3.

It was good to see Richard Carnwell racing again at Burton starting with a win in the GT12 C final, Paul Carter took second place, Freddie Parker finished third and Ian Craig fourth.

The B Final was won by Bob Harley, Mike Simpson was a close second, Benn Norris third and Nick Wallace fourth with only 1/100th second difference in best lap times between Mike, Benn and Nick.

In the A Final another win for Karl Norris lapping all the other drivers, Chelle Snowden took second place by less than a second from Kayleigh Knight and a great drive from McKenzie Wallace earned him fourth place and the Best Junior trophy.

The last race of the evening was the LMP12 Final, could Steve Donald win the race from pole position ahead of Louis Parker?
As usual it was a superb race to watch with all the drivers lapping very quickly, Louis was the eventual winner, Steve taking a very close second place, both being two laps ahead of Fred Hatfield in third place.

Another competitive and entertaining evening, congratulations to the trophy winners.

Next week is round 7 of the Spring League and for those drivers who have raced in every round so far a chance to produce a good result and discount their worst round score to date.

03-03-20 Spring League Round 6

Three qualifying rounds as usual after which Simon Pole was quickest in GT12 followed by Karl Norris and Justin Heath

In LMP12 Ashley King was top qualifier, Steve Donald second and Fred Hatfield third.


The GT12 C Final winner was Paul Carter with Freddie Parker taking second place and also setting the quickest lap of the race, McKenzie Wallace finished third.

In the B Final Chelle Snowden won by two laps from Nick Wallace with Mike Simpson third.

Another great A Final this week, Karl Norris starting from second place on the grid won by one second after a tremendous race with Simon Pole. Kayleigh Knight took third place just over a second in front of Justin Heath.

After the excitement of the previous race we were not to be disappointed with the LMP12 Final which was run at a very fast pace. Steve Donald set the fastest lap, but Ashley King was the victor in a close finish with Steve, Guy Rogers finished in third place.

Several changes to the leading league positions after the evenings racing.

GT12 F1
Karl Norris remains in the lead with Kayleigh Knight moving up into second place and Bob Harley into third.

GT12 F2
Nick Wallace is the new league leader, Benn Norris remains second and Mike Simpson is now third.

GT12 F3
Positions remain unchanged with Jack Walsh leading, Simon Honeysett second, however Freddie Parker in third place picked up a very useful 100 maximum points being the top F3 driver this week.

No changes, Fred Hatfield leads, Ashley King is second and Gavin Maciver third.