25-10-16 Autumn League Round 8

Round 8 of the current Autumn league saw James Hart take another win, Darren Ford was the top division 2 driver and Steve Donald maintain his incredible record of winning all of the rounds so far in division 3.
In the club mardave class Jordan Galbraith was on top form to take maximum points with his brother Josh finishing second in the final.

18-10-16 Autumn League Round 7

A fast track design again this week resulted in some superb racing with James Hart being fastest qualifier and winning the A Final, Louis Parker taking second place and Gavin Maciver third.
In division 2 Darren Ford was quickest in the qualifying but a loose motor pinion put paid to his chances in the finals and Daniel Lacey was quick to take advantage.
Steve Donald continued his unbeaten run in Division 3 to make it seven consecutive maximum league points, only three rounds left to go now, can he win all ten?
In the mardave class Jordan Galbraith was quickest all evening and won the final closely followed by his dad Paul, hopes of a team Galbraith 1.2.3 finish disappeared when Joshua retired after lap 14. Roy Matthews also had a good evenings racing, the change of his bodyshell colour must have worked!

A problem with the transponder loop meant that all the heat results were not complete, all ok for the finals.

11-10-16 Superleague Round 5

The penultimate round of the 2016 superleague produced an excellent evenings racing with several very close finishes.
A refinement on last weeks design.


James Hart starting from the back of the field set a blistering pace in round 1 to record 39 laps, an incredible 3 laps ahead of Gavin Maciver in second place with Darren Ford, Louis Parker and Chelle Snowden a further lap down. Louis moved up to second place in round 2 with 38 laps, Gavin also improving on 37. James achieved 40 laps in round 3 which proved to be the best time of the evening to take pole in the A final ahesd of Louis and Gavin.
In division 2 Bob Harley was quickest in round 1 but Matt Popejoy beat him in round 2 and then again in round 3 by the narrowest of margins 0.17 seconds, Rob Hambridge was third fastest.
Steve Donald led the division 3 drivers in the first round with Courtney Orme in second position. Daniel Lacey had a good drive in round 2 to take the lead but Steve Donald re-established the top place in round 3 with Daniel second and Courtney third.
In the mardave class Mike Simpson won round 1 with Jordan Galbraith in second place and Joshua Galbraith third. In round 2 Jordan was the winner with Mike second and Josh third. After round 3 Jordan was top qualifier, Mike second, Josh third and Paul Galbraith fourth. Team Galbraith were talking very confidently in the pits of claiming all three places on the rostrum in the final – could they deliver?


First up was the mardave final as usual and team Galbraith’s hopes of a whitewash were dashed in the first few seconds of the race when Joshua’s car refused to move off the line. Jordan however was in sparkling form and soon established a lead that nobody could make up and went on to win the race. Behind him Mike Simpson and Paul Galbraith were having their own race for second place with Mike being ahead and Paul lapping quicker. Half way through the final lap Paul was just a couple of car lengths behind and they crossed the line at speed in a photo finish – Mike just ahead by 0.2 seconds, all the first three drivers being on the same lap. Wow that was a close finish!

Visiting driver Martin Trice won the GT12 C final ahead of Mike Simpson, Courtney Orme took third place and Jack Walsh had a good drive to be fourth – well done Jack.

The B final was a great race to watch with Daniel Lacey, Matt Popejoy, Steve Donald and Bon Harley all very evenly matched and driving well. It was Daniel Lacey who was first across the finishing line for a hard earned win, very closely followed by Matt Popejoy, Steve Donald was third and Bob Harley fourth, both drivers a lap down on the winner.

The A final saw another win for James Hart with Louis Parker also putting in a super performance to put pressure on James for most of the race and finish in second place. Gavin Maciver was third, Darren Ford fourth and Chelle Snowden fifth.

A good evenings entertainment, with several of the league positions not decided yet it will all come down to the last round results in December.

04-10-16 Autumn League Round 6

Another great evenings racing on a fast track design.

Louis Parker wins the GT12 A Final, Gavin Maciver was second and Darren Ford third half a second behind.
Bob Harley won the B Final, Steve Donald took a fine second place and Daniel Lacey was third just 0.28 seconds adrift.
Club Chairman Rob Hambridge had a convincing win in the C Final followed by Courtney Orme and Alwyn Hodges.
In the Mardave final Mike Simpson was the winner with Roy Matthews taking second place and Paul Galbraith finishing third after losing his nuts! – (on his front wheels of course).

Don’t forget that next week is round 5 of the 2016 superleague.