August 2013

Tuesday 30th July 2013 – Summer League Round 4 – Pensioner storms to victory as Richard falters 

The pressure was really on this week for Richard Parker who was trying to extend his run of successive “A” final wins to an unprecedented five weeks.  All looked good after the qualifying with Richard on pole position for the final and getting off to a clean start.  However Dave Tomlinson who had won heat 1 in the qualifying was putting in some very quick times and took the lead on lap 7 only to see Richard to regain the lead 4 laps later. The decisive break came on lap 17 when Dave took the lead once more and held on to the end of the race, winning with 46 laps.  What a race to watch!  Behind all this excitement Louis Parker also put in a fine performance to take third place.

In division 2 Daniel Lacey was top qualifier taking pole position in the “B” final with Michelle Snowden second and Bob Harley third.  Michelle with a new bodyshell on her car was on form this week and after a close race eventually won the final with Daniel second.  A fantastic performance by division 3 driver Jordan Galbraith gave him third place ahead of all the other division 2 drivers.

Alwyn Hodges was the winner of the “C” final with Roy Matthews taking second place and Johathan Wheatley third.

With 4 rounds completed we are at the halfway point in the league, see the latest results page for all the details. 

Tuesday 23rd July 2013 – Clubnight – Anti-clockwise

A break from the league this week and racing in the opposite direction around the track for a change.  No problem it seems for Richard Parker as he was top qualifier and again went on to win the final. Louis Parker, Daniel Williams and Daniel Lacey challenged Richard for the lead all evening but could not beat him, the final being a Team Parker 1st and 2nd.

Nick Wallace won the “B” final with Nathan Marshall second and Jordan Galbraith third, a very close race this and in the “C” final it was a win for Alwyn Hodges, Jonathan Wheatley taking second place and Kevin Flamson third. 

Tuesday 16th July 2013 – Summer League Round 3 – Richard Parker completes the hat-trick of wins

There seems to be no stopping Richard Parker at the moment, after being fastest qualifier he went on to win the “A” final for the third successive week – a great performance.  Louis Parker was second fastest qualifier but it was Dave Tomlinson who took second place in the final with Mike Simpson third.

In division 2 Daniel Lacey took maximum points and now leads the division, his nearest challenger Bob Harley was second in the qualifying and third in the finals behind Michelle Snowden.

Roy Matthews was top qualifier in division 3 with Jordan Galbraith in second place, their positions were reversed in the final with Jordan winning and also a great performance from Selina Woods won he third place. 

Tuesday 9th July 2013 – Summer League Round 2 – Richard Parker wins the “A” Final two weeks running

After the qualifying Darren Ford was fastest and took pole position in the “A” final with David Simpson second and Richard Parker third. The final was close until one minute from the end when Richard took the lead from Darren and went on to win by a lap, with David third. Richard seems to have got the hang of winning the finals now, can he make it three consecutive wins in a row next week? No pressure Richard!

In division 2 Daniel Lacey remembered to attach his transponder this week and recorded the only maximum points score of the evening, being fastest qualifier and winning the “B” final. Good performances from Bob Harley and Michelle Snowden gave them second and third places respectively.

Jordan Galbraith was top qualifier in division 3, Roy Matthews second and Alwyn Hodges third.  Roy had a tremendous final and was first across the finish line, Alwyn was second and Jordan third after technical problems with his car six minutes into the race when lying in second place.

Trophies were presented by the club Chairman to the leading three drivers in the Spring League. 

Tuesday 2nd July 2013 – Summer League Round 1 – Richard Parker wins an “A” Final at last

The new league got off to a great start with David Simpson setting the fastest time in qualifying followed by Louis Parker in second and Richard Parker third.  In the “A” final Richard finally got the win that has eluded him for so long with Louis taking second place and newly promoted Graham Oxford third.  A good evenings racing for team Parker – no team orders here!

In division 2 Daniel Lacey was top qualifier, Bob Harley second and Michelle Snowden third.  An error by Daniel in the final when he did not fit a transponder resulted in a fine win for Michelle Snowden, closely followed by Bob Harley and Nathan Marshall.

Jordan Galbraith continued his run of good form by being top qualifier in division 3, Roy Matthews was second and Paul Galbraith third.  Jordan then dominated the final to take the first maximum points of the league and some great driving by Alwyn Hodges gave him second place ahead of Roy Matthews in third.

Remember it is best best six from a possible eight weeks scores to count for the league score.