18-12-18 XMAS Trophy Meeting

The final race evening of 2018 with a chance to win a trophy before the Christmas and New Year break.

Karl Norris was top qualifier and took pole position a lap clear of Ashley King, Dan Sheppard and Darren Ford with Chelle Snowden completing the A final line up.
Fred Hatfield was on pole in the B Final followed by Justin Heath, Bob Harley, Bob Harris and Steve Donald.
The C Final line up was Kayleigh Knight, Mike Simpson, Guy Rogers, Paul Galbraith and Paul Carter.
The D Final start order was Roy Matthews, Nathan Marshall (Mardave V12), Martyn Hartshorne, James Krych and Freddie Parker.

First up was the D Final and with some friendly rivalry between the drivers it promised to make an exciting race. Martyn Hartshorne made a great start and after three laps was leading followed by Nathan Marshall and Roy Matthews. Martyn went on to set the quickest lap-time in the race but some very consistent driving from Roy saw him move up into the lead and win the race by a lap from Nathan Marshall who took second place by just over two seconds ahead of Martyn.

In the C Final, after an evening of problems with his car Guy Rogers showed his true form be the fastest in the race and win, Kayleigh Knight also had a good drive to take second place with Mike Simpson third. It was good to see Paul Galbraith racing at Burton again.

The B final result was extremely close with the first four drivers all finishing on the same lap. Fred Hatfield was the winner, Bob Harley was second, Justin Heath third and Bob Harris fourth – good race!

The A Final completed the racing for the evening, a great win for Karl Norris after being under pressure from Ashley King for the first half of the race, he then established a comfortable lead. In the meantime Ashley was being chased down by Chelle Snowden, but despite an incident on the penultimate lap Ashley just held on to second place with Chelle finishing third.

A great end to the racing in 2018.

After all the equipment was packed away Chelle Snowden presented the trophies including for the best junior member Freddie Parker .

More photos in the Gresley 2018 picture gallery

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all.

The 2019 season starts on Tuesday 8th January.