11-06-19 Superleague Round 3

The twenty three drivers who braved the inclement weather were rewarded with a great evenings racing.

It was good to see Mark Deacon racing again at Burton for the first time since January this year, could he mark his return with an A Final win???
Things were looking promising after the first two rounds of qualifying but Darren Ford put in a tremendous performance in round three to take pole position in the A final from Mark by just 0.05 seconds, Mike Simpson being third, Bob Harris fourth and Bob Harley fifth.

Jack Walsh qualified for pole position in the B Final, William Hewitt the C Final and Freddie Parker the D Final.

Just two LMP12 cars this week,Guy Rogers who was quickest and Steve Donald second.

First up was the GT12 D final where Nick Wallace after struggling with his car all evening came good to win the race, Freddie Parker had another great drive to take second place being a lap clear of Saul Theobold.

The C Final was a very close race with the first three drivers finishing just a few seconds apart, visitor William Hewitt was the winner, Kaelin Thompson was second and Paul Dewsnap third.

Jack Walsh led the cars away in the B Final but unfortunately had to retire after just four laps, Anthony Dennis took over the lead and went on to win from McKenzie Wallace in second place (better watch out Nick!, McKenzie got one more lap than you did),Josh Young was third.

In the A Final Darren Ford won improving on his qualifying time and leaving Mark Deacon two laps down in second place with Bob Harley finishing third after starting a the back of the grid. Behind these three, Bob Harris and Mike Simpson were having there own battle for best placed F2 driver with Bob coming out on top to take fourth place.

Just the LMP12 Final left where Steve Donald finished ahead of Guy Rogers fro the first time in the evening.

The results produced several changes to the leading league positions, but with the best five from a possible six results to count there is still a long way to go before the final round in December.

Next week is the June Trophy meeting, ensure on the evening you book in or inform race control by 6-45pm at the latest. Racing will start promptly at 7pm and the trophies will be presented at the end of the evening.