18-06-19 June Trophy Meeting

Thirty drivers this week for the June trophy meeting including seven junior members.
Three rounds of qualifying and a final to decide the trophy winners as usual.

In the GT12 class Karl Norris was the top qualifier with Darren Ford just a second slower, both drivers on 38 laps followed by Justin Heath on 37 and Simon Pole with 36 laps.
Ashley King was quickest in LMP12 with 41 laps to take pole in the final, it could not have been any closer though with Steve Donald just 1/100th of a second adrift. Fred Hatfield was third a lap down.
The scene was set for some exciting racing in the finals and we were not to be disappointed.

In the GT12 D Final Freddie Parker and Roy Matthews were evenly matched throughout the race but it was Freddie who was the winner with Roy just two seconds behind and Anthony Dennis taking third place, Caleb Jones was fourth and Alfie Hart Fifth.

The C final Paul Galbraith made a good return to the club by winning, Paul Dewsnap was second with Chris Davis third, both on the same lap.

Kayleigh Knight won the B final with Jack Walsh and Benn Norris having a great race for second and third places, Jack eventually got the upper hand finishing just under two seconds ahead of Benn, Nick Wallace was fourth. Good race!

Karl Norris led the drivers away from pole position on the grid in the A final and was pursued by Darren Ford and Justin Heath. A very fast pace also produced a nail biting finish. Karl was the winner, Darren second just 0.23 seconds adrift with Justin a further 0.34 seconds behind all on 37 laps.

Just the LMP12 final to go where Steve Donald was the winner with 40 laps, Ashley King took second place on 39 with Fred Hatfield just 0.28 seconds adrift in third.

After all the equipment was stored away the club chairman Bob Harley presented the trophies, including for the Junior members.

See Gresley 2019 Gallery for more photos!
A super evenings racing!

Next week is round 4 of the Summer League.