22-12-15 Christmas Trophy Meeting

Richard Parker and Louis Parker were the top qualifiers in the V12 Mardave and GT12 classes respectively but could they both win both A Finals for “Team Parker”?
Chelle Snowden wins the GT12 B Final
Grant Woodcock has a comfortable win in the GT12 C Final
Roy Matthews had a well deserved victory in the V12 Mardave B Final where new member Jensen Wray finished in third place ahead of his dad Wes

A fast flowing track this week with a tricky section in the middle which was difficult to negotiate at speed.

Louis Parker was the top qualifier in the GT12 class with 49 laps just missing out on breaking 7 seconds for his fastest lap by 0.01 seconds. David Simpson was second with 47 laps (fastest 7.16 sec) and Gavin Maciver close behind in third place also on 47 laps (fastest 7.21 sec)

With 9 cars in the V12 Mardave heat there was some very entertaining racing with the odd spill, Richard Parker came out on top to take pole position in the A Final with some fine driving. Jordan Galbraith put in the quickest lap times and was second just over 2 seconds behind Richard with his brother Joshua third, 2 laps down.

First on the grid was the V12 B Final with Paul Galbraith leading the cars away from pole position and taking an early lead. Roy Matthews made a poor start and was nearly a lap down after the first 30 seconds of the race. However he then put in a very consistent drive to catch Paul, overtake him and win the race. Well done to Roy, possibly his best ever performance!
Paul finished in second place a lap down.
A fine effort from new member Jensen Wray saw him take third place to win his first ever trophy and beat his dad for good measure! – will team orders be come into play in the future?

Next was the V12 A Final with Richard Parker looking for a win from pole position to set up a “Team Parker” win in both classes, but a racing incident on the first lap dropped him back to third position and let Mike Simpson into the lead with a clear track ahead of him. The cars being very evenly matched made overtaking very difficult. the fastest driver was Jordan Galbraith and he chased down Mike right to the finish and was second just 2 seconds adrift with Richard in third place.

The GT12 C Final was won by visiting driver Grant Woodcock, who was 6 laps ahead of his nearest rival Scott Lewis with Courtney Orme a further lap down.

Some good driving in the B Final with Chelle Snowden taking a win followed by Matt Popejoy, both these drivers lapping very quickly and finishing well ahead of third placed driver Jake Galbraith.

The last race of the evening was the GT12 A Final and it was well worth waiting for. A stunning performance from Louis Parker won him the race with David Simpson and Gavin Maciver in second and third places 2 laps down. Dave Tomlinson was fourth, all drivers lapping in just over 7 seconds with Louis being the quickest.

After the track was stored away the trophies were presented by the Club Chairman Rob Hambridge and Vice Chairman Chelle Snowden.

Merry Christmas to all