17-12-19 XMAS Trophy Meeting

The Xmas Trophy Meeting was the last club meeting of 2019, no racing for the next two weeks over the Christmas and New Year period, 2020 events start with an ordinary clubnight on Tuesday 7th January.

The format of the Trophy Meeting was the usual three qualifying and a single final round.

In the GT12 class Nick Wallace won the C Final with Freddie Parker taking second place and Alfie Hart third just under a second adrift.

McKenzie Wallace started from pole position on the grid in the B Final and was in the lead from start to finish. Behind him Mike Simpson, Anthony Dennis and Jack Walsh were fighting it out for the second and third places. They eventually finished in this order but it was very close. Jack won the “Best Junior” trophy with Benn Norris second place Junior and also winning of the “Chairman’s Cup” for the most improved driver in the winter league.

Karl Norris won the A Final, another good week for “Team Norris” with Kayleigh Knight finishing second just 0.22 seconds ahead of Darren Ford in third place.

In the LMP12 class Ashley King finished the year with a convincing win in the final, Simon Pole took second and Richard Norris was third and Gavin Maciver fourth.

A great evening to conclude the years racing, it was good to see excellent performances from all the Junior members which is very encouraging for the future.

Many thanks to Courtney Orme who has run race control all year.

For members who have not yet joined for 2020 membership forms will be available on January 7th.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to everyone.