12-07-16 Summer League Round 8

Gary Kirkpatrick and Shane West take the top two places in the qualifying with Gavin Maciver in third spot.
Bob Harley takes maximum points in division 2 ahead of Matt Popejoy and the club Chairman Rob Hambridge.
Daniel Lacey stretches his unbeaten run in division 3 to 8 rounds.
Joshua Galbraith charged to an impressive top qualifier place in the mardave class but looked a little run down after his battery connections came adrift in the final and his dad Paul took the win.

Some great driving with Gavin Maciver quickest in round 1, then Gary Kirkpatrick winning both rounds 2 and 3 with Shane West in second place. So pole position in the A final for Gary, followed by Shane and Gavin.
Matt Popejoy was fastest in division 2 through the first two rounds but Bob Harley had an excellent run in round 3 to finish ahead of Matt.
Daniel Lacey was again fastest in division 3, could he maintain his form in the finals.
In the mardave class Joshua Galbraith put in some super drives to take pole position in the final with Mike Simpson second, Paul Galbraith third.

In the mardave final Joshua Galbraith confidently built up and early lead over Mike Simpson and Jordan Galbraith, everything changed after lap 11 with Mike being involved in a coming together of cars and Joshua suffering a loss of power from his batteries forcing his retirement. Jordan Galbraith was quick to take advantage of the situation but could only hold onto the lead for a couple of laps before his dad Paul hit the front. The disaster struck for Jordan on lap 15 allowing Mike back up into second place and chasing down Paul for the lead. it was a very close finish with Paul winning 0.78 secons ahead of Mike. Whilst all the action was taking place at the front the fast improving Roy Matthews was putting in a very impressive and consistent drive and went on to take third place – well done Roy.

With just two cars finishing in the GT12 C final Steve Donald took the win ahead of Courtney Orme.

The B final was won by Chelle Snowden with Nick Wallace taking a fine second place and Matt Popejoy finishing third, Rob Hambridge just finishing ahead of Daniel Lacey who was again top driver in division 3.

In the A final Garry Kirkpatrick was in the lead from start to finish to take a fine win. It was very close for second and third places between Andrew Slingsby and Gavin Maciver, who despite a slow lap 3 challenged Andrew hard for second place. Andrew held on to the finish with Gavin third just 0.13 seconds adrift! Bob Harley was in 5th place and fastest in division 2.

A good evening, only two more weeks left in the league now.