07-05-19 Summer League Round 1

A Courtney Orme modified version of standard track design No 2 for the first round of the new league.

After two rounds of qualifying Richard Norris was quickest, but in round three Karl Norris put in the best time to take pole in the A Final with Richard in second spot, Chelle Snowden third, Simon Pole fourth, Darren Ford fifth after missing the first round and running in heat 2 and Kayleigh Knight completing the A Final line up.

Bob Harley headed up the B Final with Nick Wallace car 2 and Mike Simpson car 3.

Adam Hancock took pole for the C Final ahead of Paul Carter and Nathan Marshall who was racing at Burton after several weeks break.

The grid order for first final the GT12 D Final was Saul Theobold, Freddie Parker and Caleb Jones. However it was visiting driver Kaelin Thompson starting from the back of the grid who was the winner, Saul Theobold finished in second place and Freddie Parker third.

Adam Hancock had a comfortable win in the C Final finising two laps ahead of second placed driver Paul Carter with visiting driver William Hewitt finishing third.

Bob Harley was the winner of the B final but is was very close for the next three places between Nick Wallace, Mike Simpson and Jack Walsh with all three drivers having a few spills during the race. On the final lap Jack Walsh was holding second place but in the last few moments of the race Mike Simpson moved up into second with Jack finishing third just 0.25 seconds adrift and Nick Wallace fourth. Another great finish but not quite as good as last week when Jack won by 6/100th second!

The A Final was great to watch and produced a very close result, Karl Norris was the winner just over three seconds ahead of Simon Pole with Darren Ford just 0.59 seconds adrift in third place. Looking forward to seeing some very competitive racing in the remaining rounds.

In the LMP12 Final Steve Donald was first over the finishing line with Ashley King just 0.33 seconds behind and also setting the quickest lap, Fred Hatfield was third.

Following the racing Club Chairman Bob Harley presented the Spring League trophies. Congratulations to all the trophy winners including the league winners Karl Norris F1, Kayleigh Knight F2, Paul Carter F3, Freddie Parker F3 Junior and Saul Theobold the Chairmans cup for the most improved driver winner.